Here we are, back from the holiday and ready to report the final three of the calendar. The runner-ups are a nail file and a primer.

Pür Correcting Primer (ah, isn’t it great to use a Scandinavian keyboard with all the necessary letters! 😉 ) promises to prepare and perfect the skin under makeup. Definitely a brand on my watch list, I’ll be happily giving it a try.

Leighton Denny Mini Crystal Nail File found a place in my carry-on makeup bag as it’s such a convenient size and feels super sturdy, enough to withstand daily travel to work and back. I also used this during the holiday, resulting in very mixed feelings. The promises made – sealing nail edge, file back and forth – sound like spot on, but having a proper filing session resulted in my nails chipping off layers. Twice. This has never happened with any other nail files and I am not completely sure what’s the problem. Should I not file back and forth then? Or is it just my nails being fragile (probably true, but nevertheless other nail files do not make them chip)?

The jury is still out there with this one. No matter the result, it will remain in my bag as it really is very travel-friendly and would work just fine in emergencies. But it might not make it to my regular manicure routine.

